Chetan Mathur is appointed to the TIFF Board of Directors

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook

TIFF announces the election of four new members to the TIFF Board of Directors: Chetan Mathur, Geetu Pathak, Rod Phillips and Wayne Purboo.

“We are delighted to welcome four dynamic and professional individuals to our Board of Directors,” said Paul Atkinson, Chair, Board of Directors, TIFF. “Each of our new directors brings a unique and diverse perspective that will be a huge asset to our Board as we begin our second year as a fully integrated, year-round organization dedicated to excellence in film.”

With these new appointments comes the retirement of four Board members. Stepping down from the Board are Helen Burstyn, Brendan Calder, Ralph Lean and Dan Tanenbaum.

“On behalf of the entire organization and Board of Directors, I would like to express our gratitude and appreciation to Helen, Brendan, Ralph and Dan recognizing the immense contributions all of these dedicated volunteers made during their tenure on our board. We are indebted to them for their commitment to growing and transforming this organization,” added Atkinson.

Chetan P. Mathur is the founder of Next, an investor in strategic and high growth companies. Prior to this, Mr. Mathur was the founder of Sage Information Consultants, an international technology integrator and a leading supplier of IT consulting services for top tier national and international companies. As well, Mr. Mathur served as the CEO of M Systems Group. Mr. Mathur is involved in numerous professional organizations and philanthropic causes including the Young Presidents Organization and serves on a number of boards including Luminato, Massey Hall and Roy Thomson Hall. Together with his wife Clara, they donated a stage at TIFF Bell Lightbox in support TIFF.

Geetu Pathak is currently the CEO of Milo-FAIS- a food services and infrastructure company based in southern Ontario. Prior to this and other entrepreneurial ventures, she was with the Mitchell Madison group in New York and Toronto in Business and Strategy Consulting. Previous to her extensive North American experience, Ms. Pathak worked in India in industrial operations and manufacturing sector as a process and plant engineer with the Lupin Group and Davy Powergas (Kvaerner ASA). Additionally, Ms. Pathak is a member of the board of Directors at TVO, Ontario. She was recently director of UNICEF Canada, actively driving the $3M HIV/AIDS program targeted towards the under privileged youth in Andhra Pradesh in India. She was also a member of the board of the Indo Canada Chamber of Commerce.

Rod Phillips is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Phillips was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Shepell•fgi, one of North America’s leading providers of health and productivity solutions for employees and organizations. Additionally, Mr. Phillips is the Founding Chair CAMH’s Transforming Lives gala and is a past member of the Boards of the Canadian Psychiatric Research Foundation, Global Business and Economic Roundtable on Addiction and Mental Health, the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Bridgepoint Health and the Toronto Community Foundation. He is a past President of the Canadian Club of Toronto.

Wayne Purboo is the President, CEO and Co-founder of QuickPlay Media, a company that provides managed solutions for the distribution of premium video to IP connected devices. The company’s OpenVideo Platform powers premium video services for industry leaders including AT&T U-verse, Bell Mobility, RIM, Rogers Wireless, SIRIUS XM Radio, TVB and Sony Pictures. Prior to founding QuickPlay, Mr. Purboo was Chief Technology Officer for Solect Technology Group. Mr. Purboo is on the Advisory Board of Virgin Unite, which is developing new approaches to social and environmental issues. He is also active on the boards of GlassBOX, Mashup Arts and Cellwand.

2011/2012 TIFF Board of Directors as of September 27, 2011

Chair Emeritus & Founder – William Marshall

Chair – Paul Atkinson

Directors – Barry Avrich, Ian Bandeen, Barry Campbell, Linda Chu, Jan Innes, Ellis Jacob, Allen Karp, David J. Kassie, Bill Kurtin, James Little, Chetan Mathur, Deepa Mehta, Leslie Noble, Wade Oosterman, Geetu Pathak, Rod Phillips, Wayne Purboo, Warren Spitz, Constance L. Sugiyama, Jennifer Tory, Constance Wansbrough, Mark Wellings, Lisa de Wilde

Ex-Officio – Slawko Klymkiw

About TIFF

TIFF is a charitable cultural organization whose mission is to transform the way people see the world through film. An international leader in film culture, TIFF projects include the annual Toronto International Film Festival in September; TIFF Bell Lightbox, which features five cinemas, major exhibitions, and learning and entertainment facilities; and innovative national distribution program Film Circuit. The organization generates an annual economic impact of $170 million CAD. TIFF Bell Lightbox is generously supported by contributors including Founding Sponsor Bell, the Province of Ontario, the Government of Canada, the City of Toronto, the Reitman family (Ivan Reitman, Agi Mandel and Susan Michaels), The Daniels Corporation, Major Sponsor and official bank RBC, Major Sponsor BlackBerry and Visa. For more information, visit

TIFF is generously supported by Lead Sponsor Bell, Major Sponsors RBC and BlackBerry, and Major Supporters the Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario, and the City of Toronto.

For information, contact the Communications Department at 416-934-3200 or email

About Next Pathway

Next Pathway Inc. is North America’s leading technology firm specializing in Big Data and Digital Transformation.

Next Pathway has developed a proprietary set of products and services geared to helping enterprises realize the benefits of Big Data and to expedite the delivery of digital products while allowing organizations to maintain their investment in legacy back-end systems.

For more information, please visit and follow us on Twitter: @NextPathway.

Press Contact:
Vinay Mathur

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Thank you for signing up for our newsletter